

David Shaffer, F.R.C.P. (Lond), F.R.C. Psych. (Lond)

David Shaffer, F.R.C.P., F.R.C.Psych., is the creator of the Columbia University TeenScreen Program and now serves as its Medical Director. Dr. Shaffer is the Irving Philips Professor of Child Psychiatry, Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics, and Director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University.

Dr. Shaffer obtained his medical training in pediatrics and psychiatry in London. Through his research in London and New York City and the findings of other researchers around the world, Dr. Shaffer noticed a high prevalence of depression, substance abuse and previous suicide attempts among teenagers who had committed suicide. With the hope of identifying teens at risk for suicide, Dr. Shaffer devised a short, ten-minute questionnaire for teens designed to inquire about the risk factors for suicide. This inspired the development of a comprehensive screening strategy, which, under the leadership of his colleagues Laurie Flynn and Leslie McGuire, led to the development of the Columbia University Teen Screen Program.

Dr. Shaffer has served as a consultant on suicide prevention for the U.S. Department of Defense, the Indian Health Service, and the New York State Office of Mental Health. He was a member of the Surgeon General's Advisory Task Force on Suicide Prevention. He is a past president of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention and of the Society for Research in Child and Adolescent Psychopathology.

He received the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention's award for research in suicide in 1989 and the American Mental Health Fund Research Award for research on suicide in 1990. The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry awarded him the Philips Prize for outstanding contribution to prevention in 1998, the Klingenstein Third-Generation Foundation Award for Research in Depression or Suicide in 2004, and the Catcher in the Rye Award in 2006. The American Psychiatric Association awarded him the McGavin Award in 1995 and the Itteleson award in 2000.